4-star · 5-star · Book Reviews · Series

Book Review: Four (Divergent #0.1-#0.4) by Veronica Roth (Novellas)

four the transfer★★★★/★★★★★
Title: The Transfer (Divergent #0.1)
Author: Veronica Roth
PubDate: September 3, 2013
Page count: 55

Just when I thought I was over Four, here he was showing off. Hihi :”) And have I mentioned that I hate Marcus and Eric? Grr.

This is the story of Tobias when he chooses Dauntless over Abnegation. His father expected him to choose Abnegation but instead he chooses to be free from him. It also explains how he gets his nickname, “Four”

four the initiate

★★★★★/★★★★★
Title: The Initiate (Divergent #0.2)
Author: Veronica Roth
PubDate: July 8, 2014
Page count: 40

Two years later, Tris was facing the same initiation. I know this is not about Tris but it was hard not to think of Tris while reading about Four. And I think Four saw himself on Tris that first time they met. Being Stiff and everything.

Here, it shows us Four’s initiation, his experiences and how he starts to live as Dauntless.

four the son

★★★★/★★★★★
Title: The Son (Divergent #0.3)
Author: Veronica Roth
PubDate: July 8, 2014
Page count: 65

Tori has always been one of my favorite characters. I still don’t get Evelyn but I’m sure I didn’t like her. And Four, well, he’s Four.

In this novella, Four starts to watch Max and Evelyn because he thinks they’re planning something. And sure enough, they are. It also shows that his mother, Evelyn, is alive.

four the traitor

★★★★★/★★★★★
Title: The Traitor (Divergent #0.4)
Author: Veronica Roth
PubDate: July 8, 2014
Page count: 48

Of all Four’s stories, this one is my favorite. Maybe because here he already met Tris or maybe because I love them both. Especially when Tris made him feel stronger, and braver. And that fear landscape scene was my favorite part. Never get tired reading it.

“She’s right, she hardly knows me. But still: Her heart is racing.”

“My instincts were right: She is worth trusting. With my secrets, with my shame, with the name that I abandoned. With the beautiful truths and the awful ones. I know it.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Four (Divergent #0.1-#0.4) by Veronica Roth (Novellas)

Leave a Reply

