2-star · Book Reviews · Poem

Book Review: Lullabies by Lang Leav

★★12/★★★★★
Title: Lullabies
Author: Lang Leav
PubDate: September 16, 2014
Page count: 248

I don’t write to you anymore. Nor do I write for you. But I do writeand every word still aches for you.

Continuing with Ms. Leav’s sequel to Love & Misadventure, I was hoping to love this book much better but just like the first, it was such a let down. I really wanted to like it, to love it like others did, but I just didn’t feel any connection with the words. Okay, maybe I did with some but with most I didn’t care. Maybe I felt something at times but more than a little tug, there was nothing more. But hey, it’s just me.

Love’s Inception
I did not know
that it was love
until I knew.

There was never
another to compare
with you.

But since you left
each boy I met
will always have you
to compete.

Forewarned
If a boy ever says, you remind me of someonedon’t fall in love with him. You will never be anything more than second best.

Almost
Do you see
how I love him true
it could’ve been you.

As for you
and your love for she
it could’ve been me.

But we were a maybe
and never a must
when it should’ve been us.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Lullabies by Lang Leav

  1. Oh God. “We were a maybe, and never a must.” Is this the part where I crumble on the floor dying?

    I have to say I’m a bit surprised that you didn’t enjoy her work much; I thought it’s your cuppa! I, myself, haven’t read any of it before but all the snippets I read from her works just make me want to curl up and cry in a corner. Guess I will have to think twice now.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

